Reading lists

We know by one’s reading
His learning and breeding;
By what draws his laughter
We know his Hereafter.
Read nothing, laugh never —
The Sphinx was less clever!
—Jupiter Muke

READING, n. The general body of what one reads. 

What are your thoughts about reading lists? Summer, winter, autumn, and spring clouds appear on many websites and blogs. Do you read books according to seasonal changes – heftier books for winter and loftier ones for summer? Or do you read books according to your mood? Perhaps books recommended by other people – people you know or people you don’t know?   

Reading lists – daunt me. I feel incredibly small and ignorant just reading the titles on some lists.  And before jumping in, trying to make me feel better, this feeling is not because of a low self-image, it’s something else. I know I can read any book – studious input of Mortimer Adler’s How To Read a Book proved it.  However, I stopped reading lists. 

I started reading the books on my shelf, but the feeling remained. Then I read this book, and I understood the feeling. As an eager learning to read and reading to learn child, the richness of English Literature was unknown to me – we did not speak English at home. 

Joan Bodger penpointed the feeling: voidness – I missed some great children’s stories. This simple.  

And now, now I’m going to start a reading list (for myself). A less daunting one. Who wants to contribute to my list?

4 thoughts on “Reading lists

  1. hmmmm… lazy? Do you write down as in journaling? To kill a mockingbird was a prescribed book for school. I’ll have to read it again to dilute the effects of schooling:-) I’ll put it on the list, thanx.

  2. I can’t “not read”. So a “reading challenge” isn’t going to influence *whether* I read, but it will help me plan *what* I read.

    They have helped me in the past to be more intentional in my reading. And, because I tend to be lazy, I will often pick fluffier books to read if I’m operating without a plan.

    Writing down the books I’ve read has been very helpful. I see patterns, strengths and weaknesses in my reading diet.

    A recommendation–hmmm. Have you read “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee?

  3. Angie, devilsdictionary.com quotes the poem – that’s the only info i have. Thanks for Narnia – i am going to list all ideas in a reading list page.

  4. I usually don’t come up with extensive reading lists–then I feel guilty if I don’t read them all! I like to pick 2 or 3 to work on at a time; when I get tired of one I’ll go to the other.

    I enjoyed the poem….who is Jupiter Mike?

    Have you read the Narnia books?

your thought is a gift

