Handecraft

Handecraft: Middle English for handicraft. The dictionary defines handicraft as

  • skill and facility with the hands
  • a craft or occupation requiring skilled use of the hands
  • an object that is crafted by skilled hands.

I am not gifted in the “skilled hands” area.  But I love learning. Latent yearnings towards newfangled learnings surface in my life like clockwork. And, as one dictionary comically reminds us  –  a clock is a machine of great moral value to man, allaying his concern for the future by reminding him what a lot of time remains to him – thus, or is it alas, I yearn to learn something new, well – like clockwork.

This time it is quilting, African quilting. The only requirement for the class: the ability to sew straight stitches and zig-zag stitches.

“I can do that,” she said to herself. So she joined the class. She doesn’t want to be the expert quilter.  The steady and deliberate journey from ignorance to competence is the battery for her clock; the thrill of “getting there” is what makes her life tick.

Are you gifted in the “skilled hands” area? What handecraft do you enjoy doing? Do you yearn to learn new things? What makes your life tick?

 A busy man complained one day:
“I get no time!” “What’s that you say?”
Cried out his friend, a lazy quiz;
“You have, sir, all the time there is.
There’s plenty, too, and don’t you doubt it —
We’re never for an hour without it.”
—Purzil Crofe
 

   

One thought on “Handecraft

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog! I know you’ll do a good job with your quilt, and feel a great sense of accomplishment when you see it hanging on the wall. I enjoy handicrafts because they provide an outlet for me away from the stressful things of life. Someday, I’ll have to make a quilt in honor of my mother, because she loved quilts.

your thought is a gift

