Staying Home and Staying Busy

But mostly she and Tol stayed home and stayed busy in the leisurely way of people who know exactly what they have to do and how to do it and have got used to doing it, and who don’t have to do too much.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               From That Distant Land, by Wendell Berry

Staying home and staying busy

Do you know exactly what you have to do?

Do you know how to do it?

Have you got used to doing it?

Do you do much, not too much or too much?

 

          

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Staying Home and Staying Busy

  1. Dana, I agree with the revealing mindset – the words reveal a vivid picture of such ones! The amazing part is we all have 24 hours. Carol, I admire you for using a timer, I only use one when I cook & bake. The need for moving to a small town somehere in the “bundu’s” is ever-increasing…

  2. I am much more organized and on-track when I am at work (very part-time). I know what I have to do at home, but I also tend to plan to do too much in one session of work. Then I get too many things started and a mess left instead of a finished project.

    I’ve had good success with using a timer – it gives me a deadline and keeps me focused.

    But, that being said, I love to be home, love getting the work done. I like Wendell Berry’s phrase “stayed busy in a leisurely way”.

your thought is a gift

