Jams, jellies and preserves

Jam(n.): A preserve made from whole fruit boiled to a pulp with sugar

Jelly(n.): A fruit-flavored gelatin dessert 

Preserve (n.): Fruit cooked with sugar to protect against decay or fermentation 

How pleasing to have jams, jellies and preserves in the pantry – especially if the extras of the season are homemade and ready to enjoy – jam for toast, jellie for desert, and a preserve to accompany a meal.  Today the jams, jellies and preserves remind me to keep my soul’s pantry stocked, for those lean days when I might

feel bruised

in a pickle

wobbly and alone.

A childhood song reminds me where to find the extras for the season when – a jam might be a difficult situation, a jelly some limpy feeling, and when a desire and a care decided to take the place of a preserve:

Give me oil in my lamp, keep me burning,
give me oil in my lamp I pray;
give me oil in my lamp, keep me burning,
keep me burning till the break of day.

 

Good work finds the way between pride and despair. It graces with health. It preserves the given so that it remains a gift. Wendell Berry – What Are People For?

3 thoughts on “Jams, jellies and preserves

  1. Pingback: saving the season | the eleventh hour

  2. or put them in the compost heap:-)…. i have never made refrigerator jam? is it a quick make without the “proper preserving works”? the latter the route i normally follow for marmelade, vanilla lemon jam & guava jam (my repertoire)

your thought is a gift

