It takes a long time to grow an old friend

As I am not fond of making new resolutions (again) at the beginning of each (new) year,  I decided at the end of last year to renew a past resolution: to be more patient – to learn patience. I remembered being 12 and receiving a blue magnet in the shape of a praying child from my mom. These words were written on it: Lord, please give me patience, but I want it right now!  

I am not 12 anymore, and patience, well yes patience… I know its definition. The months of November and December gave me time to think about many aspects of life. And as I’ve started a herb and vegetable garden in the beginning of last year I decided that it would be a great new year’s opportunity to grow plants from seeds and cuttings – with an added bonus: patience! as it is definitely required for this endeavour. 

I started. An unused piece of property – a pitch where the boys used to play cricket – is slowly transforming into a potting shed area. Everything used is salvaged from the yard. The plastic table will eventually make way for a working bench. Patience again!  The seedling trays are planted with various herbs and vegetables, and the growbags are already showing their growth.

grow-a-friend

Yes, and this is also a formal expression of my intention – to do something. The resulting state can and will be worth the wait – I know.

Looking forward to new growth this year – with the accompanied pruning and bad weather – it does take a long time to grow an old friend (written on the painted board above the table). 

1 Cor. 3: 6 – I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow.

2 thoughts on “It takes a long time to grow an old friend

  1. What a lovely project! I have a friend who keeps a little herb garden. She just moved away, and presented me with a big bag of clipped herbs before she left. Every time I open the refrigerator door, I catch the faint fragrance and I think of her. Do let us know the progress of your endeavor.

  2. I feel like a kindergartener when I start planting things and watching them grow. My Christmas cactus bloomed this year and I was so thrilled, I blogged about it. My children make fun of me.

    Our first president, Geo Washington, said:

    *True friendship is a plant of slow growth.*

    So, looking forward to getting to know you through your garden 🙂

your thought is a gift

