Double, double, toil and trouble

Seeing the work that is to be done, who can help wanting to be the one to do it?

 Toiling. Moiling. I grapple with Wendell Berry’s quote. Or is it the other way around? His question asks a question to life, asks a question about my life, outlines my life. The gripping effects of Seeing the work that is to be done causes frequent standstills in my life – either moments of mental turmoil or just plain moments of woolgathering. Who can help wanting to be the one to do it? Why does this independent question ask for a dependent clause seeing that it is complete in itself?  Many times I allow possibilities – of seeing and wanting to help –  to be paralyzed by a question mark. 

I am mulling over, or bubbling over. In plain English, I think I am being a pain in my own neck. In plain Afrikaans the pain sits in a body part much lower than the neck.  Bubble, bubble, toil and trouble.

What are your thoughts on Wendell Berry’s quote?

2 thoughts on “Double, double, toil and trouble

  1. Ah! I too do not find myself seeing work and wanting to be the one to do it way too often. I spend all day everyday taking care of my family–keeping the home, gathering & preparing food, washing, buying, and sewing clothing, listening to them and giving advice and encouragement, teaching and praying…

    I do not mind doing these things. Sometimes, though, when cups and plates are left out for me to stack or messes are made and left for another to clean up (that’s usually mom), or they grumble that I put little brother’s jeans in their laundry basket (after I washed, hung on the line to dry, carried back into the house from the clothes line to sort into individual’s baskets), I become irritated.

    And some days (weeks, months, years) I am just too weary to keep on keeping on with all the tasks. Some are like mountains, peaks high in the sky–too far to really think of mounting (but starting with baby steps at the bottom always leads to getting to the top). Sometimes we need to rest a while to become refreshed and ready to take on the task. When I find myself woolgathering, I have learned to go and take a real rest–a quick nap or a dip into a book. Soon I am ready to go back to work. But my babies are grown and my littlest is 16…when they were small and running around my knees, the resting periods were harder to find.

    Seasons of a lifetime.

    Thanks for letting me be thoughtful here on your blog today. 🙂
    Jean

your thought is a gift

