“Most people are ‘other people’. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”

Oscar Wilde’s words.

Why did the words hit me?

I know I struggle to put my own thoughts into words – spoken and written. It’s not the language.  It’s the matter. Culture and upbringing can easily stilt one’s ability to think for oneself. Children mimick their parents while parents forget to mentor their children. Maybe the parents were also in search of a mentor? I remember asking a family member about politics. It was during the apartheid years. The answer: don’t think about it; you’re too young; if people ask what party your family supports, just answer … (and the name of the party was given).   I was 13.  My thoughts someone else’s opinions? Many times!  

Thoughts enter and exit a life. Thoughts become a life. Talk about living an opinionated life!  Not then to wonder why passion lacks!  Well, I’m not 13 anymore, and fully able to get rid of the (sometimes comfortable) quotation marks – wounds I can show off, wounds I can lick. 

How to remove quotation marks – masterminding your way in finding, editing, and if necessary, deleting elements that st(r)ain your passion in life. 

I’m just practising putting my own thoughts into words. Don’ t take me too seriously.

2 thoughts on ““Most people are ‘other people’. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”

  1. A great piece for reflection…putting out thoughts into words is not easy. sure, it is easy for everyone to write and I think necessary for us all to write down our thoughts But like you say…masterminding your way, having it make sense…not so easy.
    Ronell

    • Thank you for your comment, Ronell – and i must add – when it comes to interpersonal (especially family) relationships – to choose correct words – definitely one of my weakpoints (the latter a question I had to answer recently).

your thought is a gift

