Sniff. Scurry. Hem. Haw.

Four characters in Who Moved My Cheese – a book I’m sure many of you heard about or maybe even read. Who Moved My Cheese is a story about four little characters (Sniff & Scurry – two mice, and Hem & Haw – two little people) running through a maze looking for cheese to nourish them and make them happy. Sniff, Scurry, Hem and Haw portray parts of ourselves: Sniff sniffs out change early, Scurry scurries into action, Hem denies and resists change, and Ham learns to adapt in changing times.

The questions I’m confronted with:

Does fear play a role in my life? If it does, what do I fear? How does it affect me and my decision-making abilities? Reflecting on the four characters – which one of them portrays me? If I read the book again in 6 months, will the same character portray me?

Whom of you read the book? What did you think about it?

Why did John Steinbeck’s Of Men and Mice just came to my mind? Let me find out.

In every bit of honest writing in the world, there is a base theme. Try to understand men, if you understand each other you will be kind to each other. Knowing a man well never leads to hate and nearly always leads to love…Try to understand each other.   John Steinbeck.

Steinbeck wrote Of Mice and Men after reading Robert Burns poem To a Mouse. The first stanza follows and here you can read the complete poem. 

Wee, sleekit, cowrin, tim’rous beastie,
O, what a panic’s in thy breastie!
Thou need na start awa sae hasty
Wi bickering brattle!
I wad be laith to rin an’ chase thee,
Wi’ murdering pattle.

Rodents are invading my space lately. I smelled a rat. Then the suspicion became real – it was stuck underneath the freezer. And guess who had to remove it. 

I have to get back to the questions, or rather I will move forward to the answers in a next post.

your thought is a gift

