Facing challenging questions

A student once asked his teacher,

“Master, what is enlightenment?”

The master replied,

“When hungry, eat. When tired, sleep.”

I love this story.

I don’t know about you, but many a time I struggle to find answers to (my) life’s questions. The reason be (me thinks – sic) is that I overlook the self-evident, the obvious. An acute awareness and a deliberate act on the self-evident (in lucid moments) surprise me time and again: the questions change into answers or they cease to exist. In the words of Henri Nouwen: Out of asking the right questions and living the questions will come right actions that present themselves in compelling ways. 

your thought is a gift

