From rags to rugs

 

Writer George Kneller said, Creativity consists largely of rearranging what we know in order to find out what we do not know. Hence, to think creatively, we must be able to look afresh at what we normally take for granted.

One room in our house, south-facing and ice-cold in winter, needs a rug. Some might ask why not go out and buy one? Well, at this moment in time, let’s say necessity is the mother of invention. Nevertheless, I rearranged what I knew and found out that amongst a variety of techniques, one can crochet a rug with rags. I’m trying my hand at this. I will never take a rug for granted. I must say at some stage (after unravelling a fairly big first, second? attempt) I was tempted to go to the nearest thrift store and buy a rug.  It is remarkable how hard it is to sit down and trust one’s creativity: comparing, judging, needing affirmation that it looks (better than) okay. It is not finished yet, but and I’ve once again realised the joy that lies in creating, in being creative.

your thought is a gift

