If what I do prove well, it won’t advance. They’ll say it’s stolen, or else it was by chance.

I don’t know what Anne Bradstreet had in mind, but on my mind is sourdough bread. The proving and the baking thereof: the whole caboodle. I have been baking bread for umpteen years using commercial yeast –  fresh, dry, instant: perfect bread every time. A few years ago I made a starter, a grape yeast starter, that I started to use with the commercial yeast in my baking: perfect bread every time. Some time ago I decided to use only the grape yeast: no proving, no advancing, any edible bread happens (present tense) only by chance. Do I toy with the idea of going back to commercial yeast? Would you?

And no, there is nothing wrong with the grape yeast starter. My sister is using it and her sourdough breads make me … green with envy (there, I’ve said it:-). I gave some to a friend, and she calls it her pet: she loves it, and her bread baking time became a therapeutic regula. And on the other side of the (wailing) wall stand I.

My problem (one of the many): I love to experiment (and no, I’m not a scientist) – which invariably leads me trying out new recipes. I will let you know when I have found the “perfect” one.

Do you bake? Do you bake bread? Do you bake sourdough bread using a starter?

One thought on “If what I do prove well, it won’t advance. They’ll say it’s stolen, or else it was by chance.

  1. Pingback: Of gathering | the eleventh hour

your thought is a gift

