nothing to prove, nothing to protect

One of my favorite authors, Richard Rohr, wrote

We do not think ourselves into new ways of living, we live ourselves into new ways of thinking.”

Rhonda from Down To Earth started with a August Decluttering Challenge. Bea from Zero Waste Home lives a decluttered life. I’m yearning for a simple life. Books and articles explain the terms downward mobility, falling upward… expressions asking us to act against the “grain of our natural compulsions.”

The concept of decluttering – making less, cutting loose, living simple  – makes space for us to practice living ourselves into new ways of thinking. 

And, in this process of cutting loose, I’m learning to let go of what I don’t need and who I am not. I’m learning to answer who I am when nobody pays attention, says thanks, or recognizes my work. I’m learning that this is and will be more than enough, providing all I need…a place where I will have nothing to prove to anybody and nothing to protect.

To contribute to Rhonda’s August Decluttering Challenge, I’ve decided to declutter the sideboard in the dining room.

I found the task of setting up an Outbox one of the most useful tips on decluttering – to help you clear out items that you no longer want or need.

Who’s up for this challenge?

Who needs this challenge?

2 thoughts on “nothing to prove, nothing to protect

your thought is a gift

