Of learning

Studies serve for delight, for ornament, and for ability. Their chief use for delight is in privateness and retiring; for ornament, is in discourse; and for ability, is in the judgment and disposition of business…

… Francis Bacon, a man of many a written word, professed. And I confess: If learning is the trap, then I am the mouse – and the learning process – well, that is the bait.

The words serve me well. A steady and rhythmic meditation – from ignorance to competence – fires the need in my hearth. Practicing what I’ve learned, until it matures into a habit, livens and lightens me. Simply put, I do not seek to become the expert –  it is the journey that matters.

Inviting me lately – cheese-making.

P1070002cheese2

The bait was there … and a mouse needed

 

And you, dear reader, where do you see yourself on this learning journey? Or, what delights you?

 

your thought is a gift

